JAMB subject combination for geology

Studying geology at the university is some candidates’ dream. We are here to make sure you get all the information that will be useful for you in the course of actualizing that dream of yours.

Geology is a discipline that will never go extinct as far as the earth continues to house resources, and the resources are being extracted. 

To Kickstart this dream, you just need to take the final steps of choosing the right JAMB subject combination for geology and watch the admission process develop.

Who is a geologist?

A geologist is a person whose job is to study the earth and the materials of which it is made. Geology is concerned with the structure of those materials, and the processes which affect them. 

SSCE requirements for geology

These are requirements that will qualify students to be able to process their admission into the geology department if they are eventually admitted.

Every geology aspirant is expected to have no less than 5 credits including English language and mathematics. The required subjects in SSCE include the following:

1. English Language

2. Chemistry

3. Mathematics

4. Biology

 5. Any other subject.

JAMB subject combination for geology

This is one of the final stages of the actualization of anyone’s dream of studying geology at the university. After registering for JAMB, students are expected to choose some subjects that are relevant to their choice of course.

For geology, the JAMB subject combination for geology includes:

1 English.

2. Any three (3) of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Biology, and Geography.

Universities that offer geology in Nigeria

 Not every university offers geology in Nigeria, and we don’t want you to make the mistake of choosing a university that doesn’t offer your dream course.

That is why we have compiled a list of universities that offer geology in Nigeria.

Check below:

  1. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Ondo State – AAUA
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State – ABU
  3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State – Abuad
  4. Achievers University, Owo, Ondo State – ACHIEVERS
  5. Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo, Oyo State – Ajayi
  6. Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot-Akpaden, Akwa Ibom State – AKSU
  7. Al- Hikmah University, Ilorin, Kwara State – Al-Hikmah
  8. Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos State – ANCHOR-UNI
  9. Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River State – Athur-jarvis
  10. Bayero University, Kano, Kano State – BUK
  11. University Of Benin, Benin City, Edo State – UNIBEN
  12. University Of Calabar, Calabar, Cross River State – Calabar
  13. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli, Anambra State – COOU
  14. Delta State University, Abraka, Delta State – DELSU
  15. Bonyi State University, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State – EBSU
  16. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State – EKSU
  17. Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara State – FED-GUSAU
  18. Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi State – FED-KEBBI
  19. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State – FED-LAFIA
  20. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State – FED-LOKOJA
  21. Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State – FED-NDUFU
  22. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State – FED-OYE EKITI
  23. Federal University Of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State – FUPRE
  24. Federal University Of Technology, Owerri, Imo State – FUTO
  25. Gregory University, Uturu, Abia State – GREGORY
  26. Gombe State University, Tudun Wada, Gombe, Gombe State – GSU
  27. University Of Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State – UI
  28. University Of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State – UNIILORIN
  29. Kaduna State University, Kaduna – KASU
  30. Kogi State University, Anyigba, Kogi State – KSU
  31. Kano University Of Science And Technology, Wudil, Kano State – KUST
  32. University Of Lagos, Lagos State – UNILAG
  33. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State – IBBU
  34. University Of Maiduguri, Borno State – UNIMAID
  35. Modibbo Adama University Of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State – MAUTY
  36. Federal University Of Technology, Minna, Niger State – FUTMINNA
  37. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce, Bayelsa State – NDU
  38. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State – OAU
  39. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State – OOU
  40. Ondo State University Of Science And Technology, Okitipupa, Ondo State – OSUSTECH
  41. Rivers State University Of Science And Technology, Port Harcourt, Rivers State – RSUST
  42. Salem University, Lokoja, Kogi State – Salem
  43. Skyline University Nigeria, Kano, Kano State – Skyline
  44. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto – UDU
  45. Osun State University, Osogbo, Osun State – UNIOSUN
  46. University Of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State – UNN
  47. Wesley University, Ondo, Ondo State – WESLEYUNI

Frequently asked questions about geology

Question: How many years is geology studied at the university? 

Answer: Geology is studied for 5 years at the university.

Question: Where can geologists work in Nigeria?

Answer: Many industries accept individuals with geology degrees. They include:

1. Manufacturing Company

2. Banks

3. Health care centres

4. Research firms

5. Government and private agencies.


Geology as a discipline is a favourite to many Nigerian students. This article will guide them on the choice of subjects to make in their SSCE, JAMB, and choice of university.

  The impressive thing about geology is the flexibility in the SSCE subjects and the JAMB subject combination for geology. So it is possible to students to change discipline if they change their minds halfway, but geology is a course that is marketable both in Nigeria and abroad. Do you know about that?

Now you know. This article will guide you on the preadmission stages of the geology journey. Good luck.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *